Skip to content

How about the hair? A little less crazy, maybe?

With some anxiousness, I’ve decided to participate in Seth Godin’s Getting Unstuck One Week Challenge. Seven days, a blog each day. Yikes. It will be all right. Devil/angel, devil/angel.

Why am I doing it? Because I don’t want to finish the last drib and drab of my novel and then face the editing. I want to say I’m brave and I did the challenge. I want to share the results on Twitter (me and my seven followers) and Facebook. Both those things scare me, but what the hell.

OK, so what’s all this about the hair? It’s about listening and paying attention. My theory about my fine hair and big face is that my hair needs to stick out, be wide, be crazy because that balances my big head. It’s the dead of winter here in Michigan. Static electricity zings all over, snapping the dog’s nose, making my skirt stick to my tights, leaving my hair limp and crispy dry. Enter the styling wax. Scoop up a teaspoon or two from the jar, rub it on my hands and through my fingers, jam it into my hair and try to get the pieces and strands to lay right. Almost impossible in this dryness.

My sister Missy knitted me a hat for Christmas that I love. It’s warm, cute, big enough for the big head and once I sewed a felted wool band over the ear section, it was perfect. The hat and the styling wax are not good together. It’s Alfalfa times five hundred. I learned this when I wore it out on New Year’s Eve and spent the whole time trying to rectify the situation. So impossibly vain. And mortified.

Bitter cold weather continued. I stopped with the wax and just wore the hat. A guy at work said, “Your hair looks good today.” He’s never said a thing before. Then someone else said it. Then I realized that maybe all the crazy spiky hair wasn’t that flattering. Not having spiky wild hair is uncomfortable for me. I’m trying something new though, in response to the feedback. Listening.

To make an effort at listening more deeply is a development goal both in my private and professional life. I was a little surprised that I would learn something about my hair. And I like it now. It’s simpler and I don’t fuss as much. I was wrong about the crazy. Huh.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Deb Fisher #

    Can’t wait to see your new do! And good for you for writing this. You are always so brave and I admire that.

    January 19, 2015
  2. June Rengo #

    I like it both ways, actually, wild or tame. The new “do” looks great and I bet it streamlines your morning routine. But I do want to apologize for passing on the big head and fine hair–it’s a cross to bear. With love, Mom

    January 20, 2015
    • Thanks, Mom. No worries about the big head thing. The brain grew to fit it.

      January 21, 2015
  3. Donna K. #

    Gotta see the new do. Can’t picture you with “tame” hair. Listening is good; simpler is even better!

    January 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

