Skip to content

What to do, what to do?

This evening, I tried to look at some of the spring collections and the Donna Karan is still too fresh in my mind to move on to anything new.  Especially Dries Van Noten, whom I adore and want to smooch even though he is gay.  It was too much to ponder Dries this evening.

Instead I am thinking about my wardrobe for 2013, thinking realistically, wanting to maximize the efficiency and output of my sewing.  God, how deadly dull does that sound?  What do I mean in plain talk? I want to sew things I will wear over and over again.  I want to sew things that create delight and ease when getting dressed in the morning.

What I know:

  • I need three slim knit skirts
  • I need a woven pullover shirt pattern that can be taken all over the place and made lots of different ways
  • I need a slim pants pattern
  • My favorite new thing to wear on the weekend is heavy leggings under a dress and then I add a scarf.  I go everywhere like this and now it’s the only way I want to dress at all.
  • In the winter, when material stands away from my skin and then touches it (like fuller pants would), I shiver.  Which means I want everything close and on my skin.  I am warmer that way.

What surprises me:

  • That I am not all over the dress idea, at least not a dress that isn’t going over leggings.  I was all about the dress a couple of months back.

Ideal way to get dressed in the morning, work day

  • Pull out a knit skirt
  • Find tights, using the flashlight to search the underwear drawer.  This is not ideal, truthfully.  Better lighting would be a bonus in the bedroom.
  • Throw on a cozy, edgy flannel shirt, or heavy silk, or a good cotton with a tank underneath (and maybe wear a jacket that doesn’t send me over the brink – so confining, those jackets)
  • Pick my earrings and bracelet, using the same flashlight
  • Push pattern matching by picking a crazy scarf
  • Buckle up and head out the door

Ideal way to get dressed, weekend

  • Pull a pair of leggings off the small green rocking chair
  • Paw through the armoire for a long sleeved paper thin t-shirt
  • Go to the closet and flip through five dresses, all clean, all fit, all are groovy
    • Blue and black flannel would be good
    • Wool jersey, too
    • Stretch velvet, that gives me a warm feeling and a good idea
  • Add alpaca socks
  • Pull on Keen boots
  • Go!

Logically, the next thing to write about would be a plan.  Hell, no, not today.  My courage needs a little S&M love before I do that. The only thing I am committing to is not sewing a one-off anomaly.  No more of that.  No more holiday dresses. Not right now.  I need basics, repeatable basics that I can use over and over and over again.  It’s dull, I don’t care.  Oh, and I need to embroider. I have to embroider in 2013 or a gray, spongy pall will hang over me, sucking the life out of each cell.  Some things are clear as day.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Deb Fisher #

    Alpaca socks sound heavenly.

    January 9, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      Thick and spongy and great and warm.

      January 10, 2013
  2. Janet Jackson #

    First, Rebecca, banish “dull” from your vocabulary and your perspective; think crisp, timeless, foundational. Repeatable doesn’t mean colorless; it speaks instead to the scheme you have designed so that various parts work together. All colors go together (look at nature), you can do anything you want. I look forward to seeing what scheme you design. Good luck!

    January 9, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      Thank you for such a lovely, thoughtful and inspirational comment. I shall banish “dull” right now and think as you direct. There will be a scheme.

      January 10, 2013
  3. Donna K. #

    I really like your plan, and agree with Jan re: the banishment of “dull” from your thought process. The thing about a lot of fashion is that it just doesn’t work for our Northern MI climate. So I like the idea too of incorporating some of the fashion-forward edginess into one item of an outfit while keeping it warm, comfortable to wear, and warm. (I know, I said “warm” twice!). I’m with you on no more sewing of one-of items that don’t coordinate or work with your wardrobe (translated to mean “how you really dress”). I really struggle with this. That said, I am going to follow your example and write down a wardrobe plan for myself. Thanks for the inspiration! Looking forward to reading about your progress.

    January 10, 2013
  4. Robin N. #

    It sounds lovely to me! Do you make your leggings? If not do you have a favorite place to get them? I do like them on the thicker side.
    Love reading your thoughts!

    January 10, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      I don’t make my own leggings. My favorites right now are from the Women with Control brand available on QVC. I would link to them, but I can’t make it work.

      January 10, 2013

Leave a Reply

