Skip to content

DK and Nimrod

The music situation at my house is odd.  There are stacks of CDs in the other room, in the dark, barely looked at.  There used to be a stereo but now all the music seems to stream from the computer to an anemic pair of USB speakers via Rhapsody.  Sometime during the holidays, I went to the shelves and pulled out Elgar’s “Enigma Variations.”  Call me a sentimental dope with a sawboned view of classical music, but the Nimrod variation from this piece is one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever composed.  If you don’t know it, start the new year off right and listen.  If you do know it, listening again will do you good.

Jumping around now, a few months back, Tom and Lorenzo posted Donna Karan’s Pre-Fall 2013 collection and I was late for work that day.   I could have stared at that post for an hour.  Gasping was my first response.  Look at this and see if you don’t have your own physical reaction:

OK, it’s not for everybody, but the elegance, the modernity, the stern femininity, the hint of knee; I find all of this breathtaking.  And there was some way that this collection broke my heart a little, the same way that Nimrod breaks my heart every time I listen to it.   I didn’t get the connection until I put the CD in my Sony radio boom box and for weeks I kept thinking about these clothes and that music.  Which is odd as hell, but if that is the truth, then that’s the truth.  The dresses, the suits, even the jumpsuits exude a sense of an idea perfected.  Or as close to an idea perfected as you can get since I am always blabbing on about how there is no such thing as perfection.  And then there is the romance of the dresses, the sweeping shapes, and that heartbreak.  It’s Nimrod.  It’s the love in Nimrod, the directness in it.  Gosh, I know I am reaching, but it’s all so clear to me.  OK, more clothes.  Here is my absolute favorite from the whole deal:

Donna 5

It’s my favorite for two reasons:  I could and would wear something very close to this and look good and that skirt slays me.  If I did wear something similar, bracelet length sleeve and no double breasted jacket, thank you.  I’d be darn tempted to attempt a version like this jacket (via Marcy Tilton’s newsletter) on top of that skirt, playing up the stern skirt with a softer jacket.

Now, if I had a fancy life, this would be my favorite:

Donna 7

I am dying to know how she did that.  Are those all different fabrics?  It looks like there is a seam there on bottom right so maybe.  Construction aside, the tonalities and the subtle sheen in the fabric amaze me.  And again, as with this whole collection, Donna Karan uses classic feminine shapes and with fabric choice and a sculptural intent, made these pieces new and just edgy enough.  I hope we see some of her clothes on all the red carpets coming up.

One last picture and then off to “Game of Thrones.” I recently am smitten with these books and in a frenzy. Here is a dress that could be shortened and worn to work in some way.  Some Audrey Hepburn meets a secret ninja and they go adventuring way.  The ninja could fit a knife on her thigh under this skirt. I don’t have it all down, as you see.  But even if you cannot be convinced of the ninja idea, it’s a gorgeous dress.  I can see Helen Mirren in this dress.

Donna 2

Where was I for all those lost weeks?  Around and I don’t know what all.  I did make a dress and will report on that.  Spoiler, it wasn’t perfect. Only I knew, though.  Happy New Year, listen to the Nimrod.

All images from http://www.style.com unless otherwise noted.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Donna K. #

    Love love love these looks! Too bad I can’t see wearing them in TC. But maybe a spin-off of some of the features…

    January 8, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      I think there is something in the sheer panel. Maybe in a top, cami underneath or something. I was so smitten with that skirt.

      January 9, 2013
  2. Jan J #

    I like these better than anything I have ever seen of Donna Karan’s. The silhouette isn’t right for me but, ah, in another time… I agree with Donna K some of the aspects of these designs would add panache to something for spring.

    January 8, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      It’s the best collection from since I’ve been paying attention.

      January 9, 2013
  3. Elaine Penney #

    Tried to enlarge the color blocked dress, but it got too pixelated. I have to believe it’s printed fabric. Checked out the rest of the collection. Some rather stunning draping.

    January 8, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      I agree, I’d love to watch that in action.

      January 9, 2013
  4. Elaine Penney #

    PS
    Truly a lovely piece of music – never get tired of hearing it.

    January 8, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      Me, either. Ever.

      January 9, 2013
  5. Donna K #

    Or even incorporating some of the abstract lines into a lesser-volume skirt, or the neckline of a top. I do love the looks. Beautiful music too.

    January 9, 2013
    • Rebecca Davis #

      The necklines on some of those dresses were mind-boggling.

      January 10, 2013

Leave a Reply

