Skip to content

Sexy and Sweaty – Helmut Lang

Best jacket ever for now

I have always loved Helmut Lang.  When I became aware of him, I can’t say with any accuracy, sometime while I lived in New York City.  No doubt there was ogling and craving in Barney’s at some point.  When I think of Helmut Lang, I think:  black, tough, asymmetrical, leather, out there.  All of which works for me, except the unrelenting black.  (I agree with Angie over at You Look Fab, who wrote a post recently about all black outfits, including tips on how to brighten them up if you are so inclined.)   Helmut Lang’s Fall 2012 collection had all these elements plus a gorgeous rust red and ruby red here and there.  And several outfits that reminded me of blond brownies and tawny lions.  No red, no lions for today’s commentary.  Instead, something heavy and something light, both of which make me think of sweat and post-apocalyptic worlds.  At least the movie version of a post-apocalyptic world.

First up the amazing shearling coat.  It will keep you so, so warm.  And hold you down in a wind storm.  A crossbow and some beef jerky work as accessories.  I keep staring and staring, trying to find a flaw and I cannot.  The black is gorgeous, the offset edges of the collars, the extra flap that warms the neck, and it’s a jacket with cutaway styling on both layers.  Yours for a mere $2000, though I don’t think the runway jacket made it to the stores.  Here’s a page for more Helmut Lang jackets.  It would take me but moments to foolishly bankrupt myself.  Another day to be grateful for my pudge.  On a more fiscally responsible note, an enterprising person could make this out of fleece, it’s less bad ass, friendlier and it could be purple and blue.  Or orange and red.  Or blue and green.  The black and white only works in leather and shearling.  Oh, the big picture?  Here it is:

Best jacket ever for now

And when the apocalypse takes a break from mayhem and there’s dinner, dancing and mating, this is the outfit a lady wants to wear.

I confess I am slightly worried that there is a full leather catsuit under the knit top and jersey skirt.  That makes me sick and I am grimacing about it. The grit, the grunge, the lines, the shoulders bared and netted, oh, to be young and fierce again.  I guess I am still fierce, but I am not young, as the bitches at the Carmike Cinemas keep reminding me when they ask me if I qualify for the senior discount.  It’s happened twice now.  Maybe I should wear something like this and glare like hell, just like the model.  Back to the outfit.  Taking apart the things that might work for a greater portion of the populace, the lines of the top are hugely flattering.  The exposed and yet covered shoulder with that curved, cut-in line where the netting layers over the leather – lovely.  Rivets the attention up top, subtly but definitely sexy.  Someone might kiss your shoulder if you wore such a top.  The idea of the skirt is good, I bet it’s hard to walk in and maybe fussy to wear.  I still like it.

There you have it, a little Helmut Lang for early November.  Next post is full of satin and diamonds.  Lovely in that way that all human souls crave.  How about a few words on beauty from Mary Oliver?  The poem is “Evidence” —

“Beauty without purpose is beauty without virtue. But

all beautiful things, inherently, have this function –

to excite the viewers toward sublime thought. Glory

to the world, that good teacher.”

Image source

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Donna K #

    I love these looks, but agree about the slim and young factor. The shearling coat in fleece, perhaps a double-sided one? Could work. Love the wrap skirt on the second look, that could work for a lot of us. As for youth, my motto -You are only as old as you feel, but you can be immature forever.

    November 8, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      Double-sided fleece is a good idea and I would love to dissect and create that skirt. As for youth and immaturity, I resolve to not fuss at the Carmike staff any longer. Instead, I will be proactive and say, “I don’t qualify for the senior discount.” And I need to stop talking about this every chance I get. I’ve was just so surprised by the ferocity of my vanity.

      November 8, 2012
  2. Elaine Penney #

    WAAY cool black leather/shearling coat. For an “up north” version, you could do it in fawn. Just stay out of the woods during hunting season. I like the black funnel neck coat, too. Oh, to have a neck long enough.

    BTY, set aside the ego and grab any and all discounts that come your way. Senior or otherwise. Leaves more $$ to indulge your passion for fashion.
    Elaine

    November 12, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      I know I should do as you say. ‘Tis not possible at this stage of my development.

      November 13, 2012
      • Rebecca Davis #

        And I like the idea of fawn with the white.

        November 13, 2012
  3. Nancy #

    I love the jacket and the cat suit,skirt, top combo. Although I’m pretty sure a leather cat suit would totally suck, then again I take off my bra and put on yoga pants no less than five minutes after I walk in the door.

    November 13, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      It takes me about ten minutes to leave my “glamour” from the workday behind. For me, leggings and a ratty wool sweater from Goodwill over a cheap t-shirt.

      November 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

