Skip to content

Ferocious – Vionnet back with the ladies

Some of these looks are pretty fierce but they’re not ferocious.  Crazy wind yesterday, ate us up and spit the pits out. That’s the ferocious I refer to.  Hate wind like this.  I worry that a tree will fall on the house. If that ever does happen, I have absolutely no idea what to do.  Well, what I would do is call my mom.  There you have it.  Honestly, who do you call?  This is where having a capable live-in partner comes in handy.  The likelihood of a tree falling on the house is so small, however, that I will chance it.  I’d rather be calling my mom and crying as rain fills the house than figure out how to grocery shop for anyone other than myself.

Ah, Vionnet —it’s an old time name, a famous, famous couturier from the 1930s, Madeline Vionnet, the woman who freed women from corsets with bias cut garments that clung but did not restrict.   A man was in charge for the Spring 2012 collection, Rodolfo Paglialunga but now two ladies are back at the helm and I like it. See all of Fall 2012 here. I liked Spring 2012 too and I encourage you to check it out.  Back to coats and we’ll see how this one fares.

Color scheme – extreme elegance, yet not fussy.   Shape – Rebecca written all over it.  It’s dramatic, swings wide from the bust down, the peaked lapel is wondrous, the whole deal is boyish and feminine at the same time.  Imagine a juicy cowl neck sweater nestled in that V, maybe a creamy white or a powder blue.  I think you could even forget the buttons all together and get a big wide belt for it.  Though I don’t know what one does with a belt outside a coat once the coat comes off.  Looks cool as hell when the belt is on.  Maybe you slip the belt over the hanger hook and sort of suit up every time you head out.  Or maybe you just button it and add a scarf.

Dress over skinny pants is one of my top looks.  For some wild reason that I don’t understand what with my knock knees and heavy legs, this look works for me.  The bad news is that the skinny pants are a torture chamber by the end of the day but every time I walk down a long hall and see myself in the glass display case at work, I like it a lot.

When I saw this, I thought, “Uh-huh.  Yes, indeed.”  Similar to what I say when I see pictures of handsome European men, wearing slim suits with brightly colored pocket squares tucked in upper pocket of the suit coat, shiny pointed shoes, of course.  A reverb, a pulse that syncs with some inner frequency.  Not that everything about this is perfect.  Looks to me like there was an issue with construction.  I’m guessing silk charmeuse which isn’t easy to work with, but still it’s high end ready-to-wear and I’m surprised to see those puckers.  It’s a bitchy thing to write since I couldn’t come close to this at my current level of expertise.  One last snipe – it also looks like it was ironed to shininess in a couple of places where all the seams meet. Minor gripes.

As designed, this shape doesn’t seem to lend itself to the curvy figure, but if I tried to knock this off, I’d make the top half fit closer.  And the angle of the dropped waist, I’d be tempted to make that angle go up instead of down. Maybe, something to play with.  The folds in the skirt are the money shot for me.  Anything that nabs the perimeter of ballsy, architectural and feminine gets my vote.  I say “yes” to the black on the bottom half, it would be grey on the top for me, not beige (aka the color of death). And if I see those cuffs for sale anywhere, I might just throw down the plastic so that my wrists look like weapons.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Elaine Penney #

    Two thumbs up for the coat. Nix the dress. NOBODY should look that dumpy. It doesn’t look any better in the red version. Consider look #7. Could be very flattering on you.
    Elaine

    September 28, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      Oh, I do like that look #7. How did I miss that? Thanks for the frank assessment on the second look. I am still entranced by that fold on the skirt. But I know you are right.

      September 29, 2012
  2. June Rengo #

    Regarding the tree falling thing–I would be over in a heartbeat with all the tarps I could lay my hands on and we would kep the rain out. maybe i would bring a ladder, too. Love, Mom

    October 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

