Skip to content

Compendium – sparks from the week

It was an odd week all around and not much work got done here.  My dearest and oldest friend moved to town and there was a sleepover and eating chips.  My modem tanked and there was the setup of the new modem which is still a little futzy.  A throat/cold thing is knocking around so there was a day home from work in which I read the entirety of the new Lee Child Jack Reacher novel.  Still not 100% but I’m heading off in a bit to help get the rug and the living room furniture situated up at my friend’s new place.  Here are a few things from the week to take a look at:

The glamorous among us

Denzel Washington – holy smokes, oh my goodness, oo-la-la.  Eagerly awaiting his new film Flight because that means more photo shoots of him in a gorgeous suit and devastating smile, and the film. (via Tom & Lorenzo)

Ideas

Painted leather –  seems a bit fussy but very intriguing (via Design Sponge)

Shopping dreams

Steven Alan – this was a new one on me (via Even Cleveland).  Some things I liked:

French cotton lawn – *sigh* A tunic top or some glorious summer scarf

That’s it.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Elaine Penney #

    The Steven Alan should be in your wardrobe. I can see you in the jumper, although I don’t care for it. Sorry about the cold thing, I had it last week, too. (no fun)
    Denzel Washington gets better with age.

    September 22, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      He does get better with age. I agree that the Steven Alan stuff is right up my alley. Thanks for the jumper comment. I got a pattern similar to it from Style Arc and might try it.

      September 22, 2012
  2. Donna Koltuniak #

    Denzel…..give me a moment….whew! Now I need a cigarette. Love that guy!

    Not sure about the peplum dress, and don’t really care that the fashion folks are pushing the whole peplum idea back on us. It was good for me in the 80’s, but can’t see it now.

    Like the jumper and agree with Elaine – I can see you wearing this.

    Like the blouse too. I can also see you in it.

    Feel better soon!

    September 24, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      He is the real deal, that guy. I don’t mind the peplum myself, especially in a jacket. I’m glad for another vote on the jumper. Thanks for the feel better wishes, getting there.

      September 24, 2012
  3. Nancy #

    I like the jumper and the boyfriend shirt, afraid I’d look stodgy in the severe peplum. I’m taking notes for NY trip.

    September 24, 2012
    • Rebecca Davis #

      I think a plaid boyfriend shirt is a must have.

      September 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

